Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (53) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: sgtjoefriday Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 5113  
Subject: Re: Unsure about unschool Date: 10/12/2004 9:21 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 10
I was incredibly uncomfortable with this approach, and a year later, I still am. But this is just a feeler post, so I'm going to close here and pose some questions to the board. Does anyone here unschool? Any strong feelings about it one way or the other? Any data to back up those feelings?

Hi, kazim. Welcome to the board.

My children aren't yet of age for a formal or rigorous homeschooling (oldest is not quite three), but I have read a bit on homeschooling, and that appears to be where we're headed for our children. I have no particular experience with unschooling (beyond reading about what it is and why it should work), but I do have opinions (and hey, if the internet wasn't invented so you could be privy to my opinions, then what was it invented for?). ; )

Put me in the extreme skeptic category, wrt unschooling. Strike that, put me in the category that believes that unschooling is probably the worst thing imagineable for children.