UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (18) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: kahunacfa Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308478  
Subject: Re: happy dance: big progress with work $$$! Date: 7/4/2007 5:53 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
i<sic> just negotiated my first retainer deal. this<sic> means that a client will pay me what seems a ridiculously large sum of money *in advance* for 20 hours every 2 weeks - enough to form a solid foundation and leave lots of time for other work! yahooo!<sic> this is *such* a big deal to me as a free lancer - it provides a lot of stability that will literally change my life. (my background is in law, but i<sic> am now a free-lance writer.)

since<sic> i<sic> got rid of my abusive ex almost 3 years ago, i<sic> have been scratching and clawing my way to some kind of stability, including filing for BK to help cut the ties with him. many<sic> times i<sic> thought about giving up and just getting a "normal job" that would pay "a lot more money". but<sic> the stories i've<sic> read here, and what i've<sic> learned here, have given me hope that my lifelong dream was possible. so<sic> i've<sic> always gritted my teeth and thought, if not now, when??? i<sic> temped, scrounged, rolled coins, walked, used only my bank's ATM, whatever. (i<sic> did take chunk from my retirement fund, which i'm<sic> not happy about.)

it<sic> sounds so weird to me, but - i<sic> am *so psyched* to have regular cash flow so i<sic> can map out my spending, saving, open a SEP/IRA, etc. i've<sic> had plenty of gigs, but cash flow has always been a problem. now<sic> i<sic> can finally get on a regular rhythm of repaying my mother for all her kindness. i'm<sic> sure she thought of the money she gave me as a gift. but<sic> now she could use it, and i'll<sic> be able to come through.