Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: dbau One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 61  
Subject: Re: Snap 4000 vs Netapp F720? Date: 2/25/2000 9:37 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
I'm no expert in this area, just learning. Hope I'm not hyping DSS too much. I'd like to hear the negatives as well as the positives.

But here are some positive thoughts.

Each of TinkerShaw's points:

(1) will major players buy it. These players depend on 24/7100% uptime of which NTAP is known to give

The major players won't buy it at first, but this seems OK. Quantum's move upmarket is an "attack from below", and if they are being successful they will capture the low-end customers first. The minor players. The major players will follow after Quantum product capacity catches up with their needs, and after minor players have shown them that there is proven reliability and a big price/performance benefit.

(2) Will current clients of NTAP buy a Quantum product given (1) difficulty of compatibility with existing NTAP systems and (2) unknown reliability problems, (3) no certification from software makers such as Oracle or Real Network.

Current clients will be slow to switch, and integration issues are a big question mark for me. But there are a couple hopeful possibilities to consider.

(1) Quantum brings storage-integration knowledge for backup solutions via DLT, so they possibly have engineers that understand - at some level - how to integrate with NTAP and EMC systems.