No. of Recommendations: 8
I thought I would share my DD on Immunex, a company I studied in detail during the recent Biotech seminar. This company doesn't exactly fit as a KARM or KARB (more of a RM than RB at this point I think). Maybe you should consider it a KAR"tweener".

Company Description

From the most recent 10-Q:

We are a leading biopharmaceutical company dedicated to developing immune system science to protect human health. Applying our scientific expertise in the fields of immunology, cytokine biology, vascular biology, antibody-based therapeutics and small molecule research, we work to discover new targets and new therapeutics for treating rheumatoid arthritis, asthma and other inflammatory diseases, as well as cancer and cardiovascular diseases.

Company History

Immunex was founded by researchers Steven Gillis and Christopher Henney, and businessman Stephen Duzan in July 1981. Their initial research involved lymphokines. I vaguely remember studying about these molecules in Microbiology. That was my second worst subject in medical school. As I recall, Lymphokines are molecules that modulate the immune system. This interest seems to have been stimulated by Gillis, who did early work with Interleukin-2 (IL-2) while he was studying at Dartmouth.

Immunex went public on July 7, 1983.

Immunex also received it's first patent in 1983 -- to produce IL-2 in a proprietary cell line. Immunex would add 4 more patents for IL-2 research by the end of the year.

In 1984, Immunex identified the IL-2 receptor, a gene associated with regulation of the immune system. By 1990, Immunex would identify Interleukin-1 alpha (IL-1), Human Granulocyte-Macrophage Colony Stimulating Factor (GM-CSF), Interleukin-3 (IL-3), Interleukin-4 (IL-4), and Interleukin-7. Additionally, they would also identify receptors for these molecules, further increasing their knowledge of the regulation of the human immune system.