UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (60) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: determinedmom Big red star, 1000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308686  
Subject: Re: Budgeting help, please? Date: 4/21/2009 11:23 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
In general, the more categories you have the more money it looks like you have to save up. In tension with this, having fewer categories runs the risk of letting you overlook things or double count savings, until Something Bad happens. Envelope budgeting is a dance between eating beans and rice because you don't have enough saved for everything on your wish list, and not having funds to pay for car repairs because you put all "repairs" together and needed to fix both the car and the barn.

I've been using YNAB for about 9 months now and I've struggled with this. What has ended up working best for me is something like this:

1. Each month I set up budgets amounts for what I think the expense will be that month. I found that -- for me -- saving up money in categories to carry over just didn't work well.

2. Throughout the month if some category is going to significantly more or less than what I projected I go in and rebalance. If I increase one category by $100, though, I have to find something else to cut by $100. I want my overall number for the month to be close to zero.