Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: dharmadollars Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121565  
Subject: Re: Mortgage interest deduction question Date: 11/27/2003 9:08 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
In response to my following comment, Peter comments as below:

"(1) an add-on fee for a CLTV greater than 90%, and (2) higher interest rates on the two loans because of the greater imputed risk deriving from no equity in the transaction. Even after your secondary financing has been paid off the higher reate on the underlying first will remain."

I'm no expert on underwriting guidelines, but I seem to recall reading over on the Buying a Home board that keeping the first mortgage under 80% is all that is needed. I'd suggest posing this question over on that board. There are a couple of mortgage pros that hang out over there who know what's going on in this area.

I respond: With all due respect, I might be considered an expert on underwriting guidelines. I've been active in mortgage lending for 23 years. Keeping the first mortgage at or below 80% avoids PMI. Even without PMI CLTVs in excess of 90% result in add-on fees. When the CLTV reaches 100%, you still do not need PMI but you will face higher rates because of the imputed greater risk inherent in a "no-buyer-cash-equity" structure. It's in the loan pricing; I see it on the daily sheets.

Peter also responds to my following suggestion--
"If you have 401k plans with loan provisions, and you have sufficient vested money in the plans, consider taking out loans...."

as follows:

Of course, the interest on a 401k loan won't be deductible. That gets you to essentially the same place as taking equity out of the current residence.