Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (31) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: cnaylor Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 41315  
Subject: Re: Stupid is as Stupid Be Date: 7/21/2002 5:50 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
In the what commodities have been used to represent money, my thinking had gone a step further and asked what commodities will probably be used to represent money (energy) and/or should be used to represent money to make it the best correlation between wealth of society and what a society has produced (work equivalent of energy) - although probably neither will occur in my lifetime.

Allow me to digress... I'm by no means an expert, but I have always been puzzled by the use of gold to back paper money. I understood that its quantity was limited which was helpful to prevent inflation, but my concern was that gold, in and of itself has relatively little utility. I always thought that whatever was used as a foundation for paper money should be a substance which had real value to an average person.