UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (25) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Bonroy1924 One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35345  
Subject: Income Investing: 5.5% goal possible? Date: 6/22/2011 12:04 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am rather new to investing where the primary goal is income.

While there is no "zero risk" investment, does anyone here feel it's possible to achieve a 5.5% yearly return, with a somewhat low risk portfolio?

I'm doing a cursory check of "bond funds" and "income mutual funds" suggested by Money Magazine and it seems that the 10 year annualized return on these things is anywhere from 4% upto 8%.

Seems like a no-brainer...just park money in such funds and 5.5% is easy.

But, something tells me it's not that easy.

With low-risk threshold, is it possible to make 5.5% per year and if so, any suggestions? (I assume conservative bond and income funds would be the primary vehicle, but totally open to stock appreciation, or annuities or any other vehicles)

Thanks, Cb
Print the post Back To Top
Author: ytm One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 32963 of 35345
Subject: Re: Income Investing: 5.5% goal possible? Date: 6/22/2011 7:36 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
In a nutshell, even a bond mutual fund has risks. Just look at a whole bunch of them that tanked 40% or more in 2008. But putting a black swan or market crash aside, there is also the cyclical risk of interest rates and how they impact the mutual fund price shares. Right now is a great example. Bonds of all credit quality classes have come along way and at some point will pull back.