Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: xraymd Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121175  
Subject: Independent Contractor status/taxes Date: 1/1/2002 6:59 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Greetings, I am a medical resident who moonlighted for some shifts in the ER over a 4 month period this past fall. This increased my wages by $2920 and no withholding of any kind was taken out of my moonlighting paychecks. I was informed that my paychecks were being processed with my employment status as an independent contractor and I am responsible for paying the required federal and state taxes out of pocket.

Being too poor to pay to have my taxes done, I tried to figure them out myself. What I came up with was to prepare schedule C-EZ and schedule SE for that $2920 (reduced by $52.44 for commuting expenses = $2867.56 net). My base resident's salary in 2001 was around $37,000 and I had interest earned of around $370. I also had to pay taxes on the 4th of 4 ratable portions of a Roth conversion I did in 1998, amounting to $19522 this year. I had already determined how much to have withheld from each biweekly paycheck to cover the expected federal and state taxes on the base salary and Roth conversion. My employer also automatically deducted for social security and FHI. Only the moonlighting earnings fell under the independent contractor status and will be reported on schedules C-EZ and SE.

I am trying to figure out several things:
1) Did I choose the right schedules for the moonlighting earnings? Is there any chance that my medical license fee can be considered a deductible expense? (I assumed not, but if it COULD be, there is another potential $550 I could take off my earnings.)