UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (13) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: xu4054 Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27821  
Subject: Index Fund Drip Date: 7/16/1999 10:58 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi all,

I am looking into the possibility of an S&P (or even better, a NASDAQ)Index Fund Drip program, the reason being that I seem to be where I was since the beginning of this year but all the major indices have all gone up nicely. I don't have much money to invest so I figure DRIPping is most suitable for me, I have zero experience in mutual funds, just hope to find a fee-free or(with minimal cost) that doesn't require much initial investment, is Vanguard a good candidate? Hope you can enlighten me, I went to their website and don't know where to start, I am probably on the wrong board, is there a Fool's school board somewhere, couldn't find it though.

Thanks.

Dan
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFElwood Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 8879 of 27821
Subject: Re: Index Fund Drip Date: 7/16/1999 11:26 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Hi, Dan!

The Vanguard 500 Index would match your criteria, however there is a minimum of $3,000 to begin, or $1,000 with an IRA or Custodian account. The expense ratio is 0.18%.

For more information, visit Vanguard here: http://majestic.vanguard.com/FP/DA/0.1.Overview/290914112416112636/29018.1303581?FUND_ID=40.

Another option might be the MoneyPaper MP63 fund. I'm not familiar with the particlular details, but you can learn more here: www.moneypaper.com.

Hope this helps. Fool on!

Vince

Author: swingkid2000 One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 8888 of 27821