UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: stefgal Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75701  
Subject: Inflation Rate?/ Portfolio Growth Rate Date: 9/20/1999 12:21 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a beginning Fool at age 48, 4 months into fooldom. I'm lucky enough to have some savings. and I'm trying to figure out when I can retire, and if it would be possible for me to sell my house in the suburbs, and move to the city.
I have some savings in a deferred comp plan, that is in a Mutual Fund. I have a SEP-IRA. And the rest is in a straight taxable brokerage account. Four months ago it was all in a variety of mutual funds, but after reading lots of Foolishness, I've moved 1/3 of it into some stocks: i.e. Foolish Four, two Rulemaker STocks, and Two RuleBreaker Stocks, and some small caps.
I am stuck in Step 2 of the Foolish Retirement Lessons. How do I go about deciding what to use as the inflation rate for the Foolish CAlculators? and Question #2, The calculator wants me to enter the growth rate of my portfolio. How would I come up with that figure.
Question #3 regards living below my means. The reason I want to move into the city is to live near a bus line so I can find some housemates, preferably age 40-60 to share expenses AND have companionship. Has anyone tried something like this?
Thank you in advance for any guidance you may endow on me.
Sincerely, Stefgal
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post  
UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread

Announcements

The Retire Early Home Page
Discussion on accelerating retirement day.
Managing Your Wealth
Our own TMFHockeypop from Rule Your Retirement fame on the TV show Managing Your Wealth.
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Post of the Day:
Value Hounds

Back to the Future Buffalo Wild Wings
What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
Community Home
Speak Your Mind, Start Your Blog, Rate Your Stocks

Community Team Fools - who are those TMF's?
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and "#1 Media Company to Work For" (BusinessInsider 2011)! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.
Advertisement