UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: StTick101 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 265904  
Subject: Inherited Stock Date: 10/12/2012 2:02 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I inherited some PRU stock this year. It's down about $9.00 a share from when I received it. I'm thinking about selling it to buy something else.
My question is "What will my tax liability be if I choose to sell?"
Will it be for what I inherited it for?... or the sell price?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: HarryG Two stars, 250 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 259476 of 265904
Subject: Re: Inherited Stock Date: 10/12/2012 2:31 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Hi -

I'm no tax expert, but my recollection is that you list the basis as the value at the time of inheritance, and the net gain/loss based on the sell price at the time of the sale. Also, if you inherited it more than a year ago, it's a long term gain/loss. If under a year, it's a short term gain/loss. Probably not quite so important for a loss than a gain:-(

Net of all this is that I THINK \you would end up booking a net $9.00 per share loss (more or less).

However, I'd feel better about this advice if some other Fool would chime in and support my statement:-)

Later,

HarryG

Author: CABob Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 259478 of 265904
Subject: Re: Inherited Stock Date: 10/12/2012 4:31 PM
Recommendations: 1