UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: telegraph Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 58835  
Subject: Re: The Coming Twilight Of The Four-Year College Date: 12/16/2012 10:47 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
intercst:"WPI in Worcester MA where I got my Civil Engineering degree is a case in point. When I graduated a year early in 1977, three years worth of tuition and room and board was about equal to the starting salary I received from my first employer. Today tuition and room & board is $56,000/yr and the average starting salary for graduates is about $65,000/year. "

I just checked RPI - where I went from 64 to '68.

The 'estimated cost' now PER year is $59,470 , consisting of

$43350 tuition
$1125 in 'fees'
$12345 Room and Board
$2545 Books and Supplies

----

When I went, tuition was about $1150 a year.....and room and board about half of that....... in 4 years, it had gone up to $1600 a year.....

My parents paid 'most' of my tuition...and I had some scholarship aid the first two years...screwed up a bit and lost that the last two years.....you had to be in the top 20% to keep it...and it was a tough school and I wasn't.....but I worked part time (up to 10 hours a week) for pocket money..and worked summers to help out.

Graduated with $2500 in loans...which I repaid back in less than 18 months on my $9250 a year staring salary.

The total cost of my college education was about ONE YEAR of salary at my engineering job.

Now, unless you get a boatload of scholarship or grants.....to get out, you are taking on 4 years of starting salary. It's insane!......