UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: humpback Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75781  
Subject: Investing lump sum IRA Date: 1/10/1999 3:27 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi

I'm a little new at this. Just a little history. I received an early retirement lump sum package on 8/1/98. Since I was bombarded with suggestions on how to best invest it and having no clue, I put it in a money market IRA with the financial services division of my Credit Union (the only place I could think of to safely place it until I decided what to do with it).

I tried to decide but I couldn't bring myself to put any of it in the myriad of mutual funds that were suggested. I guess it was because I am a control freak and the thought of having all these people in control of my money and being somewhat locked in to the decision for years, just made me know that while I wasn't sure what to do, that was definitely not it.

Then the convential wisdom that retirement funds should be 60% stocks, 30% bonds, 10% cash! Well I explored the bond market, T-Bonds, municipal bonds, REITs and the more I learned, the more I thought, why would I want to put my money away for 2,4,6,15 years only to get 5% back? I can get that in my money market fund and still have access to my money.

I had explored the Fool last fall as I was researching everything else and thought it made some sense but still scary. However, my son gave me the book again last week ( I was home sick with a cold) because he knew that my New Year's Resolution was to make a decision to do something with the money this month. So I took the time to read and reread and wander all over your website.