UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: NoelXX One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75890  
Subject: IRA Beneficiaries Date: 2/1/2000 1:12 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I have some questions based on the recent David Braze article "Have you checked your IRA Lately?"
When I was a teacher, I began savings with the 401 whatever that was for teachers. When I retired, I rolled it over into a traditional IRA.
1. Quoting from the last paragraph: "First, ensure that your IRA will allow both the beneficiary designations and the MRD method you want. If not, switch to a provider that will. Next, review your IRA beneficiary designation(s), know how your provider will calculate yourMRD, and make sure the IRA allows the greatest flexibility for distribution to beneficiaries on your death." I hate to admit this, but I haven't a clue who I would ask about these things. I don't know the provider is. I have just gone on assuming that when I die, the companies I'm invested in send my investments to my daughter, she pays the taxes and remainder is divided between her and my son. Can you clarify this?

2. Some of my IRA funds were invested in Schwab when the time came to start taking withdrawals. Their investment advisor said it would be to my advantage to set up withdrawals based on a Joint Life Expectancy, mine and my daughter's, to minimize income taxes. I gathered from the above article that this would preclude me from including my son as a beneficiary at my death? If this is the case, is there anything I can do, say with a lawyer, to insure that he becomes an equal beneficiary with my daughter?

3. I have always assumed I had one IRA which I had divided up among several different investments, with different companies. But once divided, does my original IRA now constitute several IRAs?