UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: lanyib Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76395  
Subject: IRA questions (I'm a newbie) Date: 7/31/1999 7:41 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi all!

I have just recently joined Fooldom and so far I like everything I've seen. However I have a few questions:

My wife and I are jointly filing and our AGI is over $58,000. I am enrolled in my employer's 401K plan and contribute the maximum amount possible. I plan on establishing a Roth IRA for myself but I don't know which option would be better for my wife. Can I contribute to a Spousal IRA in her name even though she has income? Or if she starts contributing to a deductible IRA and later stops working, can that amount be rolled over into a Spousal? Urrr... I think I've asked enough questions for starters.

Thanks for your response in advance!

LanyiB
Print the post Back To Top
Author: zgriner Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 12675 of 76395
Subject: Re: IRA questions (I'm a newbie) Date: 8/1/1999 2:22 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Since you are filing jointly, stop thinking about his and her money. It's our money. The IRS doesn't care where the money for your or your wife's IRA comes from, as long as one of you has an income to cover the contribution. Even if your wife stops working, you can still contribute to her IRA.

The real question you need to ask yourself, is whether it's better to open a regular IRA or a Roth, based on your AGI.

Zev

Author: TMFPixy Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 12678 of 76395
Subject: Re: IRA questions (I'm a newbie) Date: 8/1/1999 8:04 AM