Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0

When I left my previous job to start my own business I rolled my 401k into another companies mutual funds as an IRA rollover.

Can I become truly Foolish and have these previously untaxed funds deposited into stocks of my choice without any tax consequences ???

I am of course not planning on removing the cash, just moving my funds into stocks of my choice instead of the mutual funds where the money sits now.

I am unsure if money from an IRA plan can be placed in any investment or only another IRA based fund.

thanks for the input... I am a definate newbie but plan on being around a while (another 40 years at least !)
Print the post Back To Top
Can I become truly Foolish and have these previously untaxed funds deposited into stocks of my choice without any tax consequences ???

Well, yes BUT there are still going to be FEES on the buying of those stocks, ya know(These aren't taxes but are costs that can be a drag on your returns).

I'd suggest having the rollover IRA with a discount broker if you want to go with individual stocks although I'd argue it can also be truly Foolish to just take a plain ol' index fund.

JB

thanks for the info, now the big question.

Any suggestions as to which discount broker to use. I plan on buying, holding and sitting on the stocks so I'd prefer a "hands off" broker -- though they don't have to offer the lowest trade price, because I don't want to be trading frequently anyway !
Any suggestions as to which discount broker to use.

Check out the "Choose a broker" link at the upper left.

TMF ExRO
Phil Marti
TO: acupunctureone

You have two issues to deal with: (1) What institution should you select to manage your IRA? and (2) What investments should you choose for your IRA?