UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: dupa6488 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76235  
Subject: IRA Transfer? Date: 2/2/2000 3:55 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
This is my first post and I am just getting started with the Fool!

My question is as follows:

My wife has an IRA Account with a full service broker that she rolled over from a 401k when her previous employer let her go. (She didn't go back to work for about a year and had to do something with the 401k!) Anyway, the IRA with the FSB is just not performing and since she went back to work she has a 401k so doesn't want to make any contributions to the FSB IRA. I want to transfer that IRA into something that performs and need information on where to go and what to do? HELP!!

Thanks!

DD
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Chipsboss Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 18643 of 76235
Subject: Re: IRA Transfer? Date: 2/2/2000 9:39 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I held back answering, wanting one of the experts to come along. But, with your first post, you ought to get a quick response. Here goes.

I think full service brokers are rarely or never worth what they charge customers. "Where are the customers' yachts?" indeed. So, as I see it, the sooner you get away from them, the better. Illustrative story: a dear friend of mine and I had IRA's of about the same value two years ago. Hers is with a FSB and today has the same value as then, although she has taken nothing out of it. My IRA is with Vanguard has made more than 50% in that two year period. In my experience, FSB's are incapable of putting the clients' interests ahead of their own.