No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm relatively new to investing, and although I have a general understanding of how traditional and Roth IRA's work, I do have one question. Has anyone done a mathematical comparison of the difference between taxation upon withdrawal (traditional IRA) and taxation before contribution (Roth IRA)? I would imagine that would have some effect on the capital gains over time, but I can't figure out exactly what the difference would be. Is anyone aware of a resource that shows the differences with early and late taxation?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 7
Has anyone done a mathematical comparison of the difference between taxation upon withdrawal (traditional IRA) and taxation before contribution (Roth IRA)?

Lots of folks have.

Basically, this is an arbitrage decision. Is your tax rate when the IRA money is withdrawn going to be more or less than your current tax rate? If the current rate is higher, defer the taxation and go with the traditional. If the future tax rate is higher, pay the taxes now and go with the Roth.

This assumes that any tax savings related to a traditional IRA are also saved and invested. If that doesn't happen, you get a significant bias toward the Roth.

The big problem is that proper application of this formula requires knowledge of the future. My staff swami just quit, so I can't help with predicting the future. The best we can do is make educated guesses. And your educated guess may be different from my educated guess.

--Peter
Lets assume you are 30, contribute 4K a year, and retire at 65. Lets also assume your effective tax rate today is 20%, and when you retire it drops to 15%, and you can earn 11% on the money.

With the IRA you will end up with 796,084 and the ROTH 636,867 (because you only put in 3.2K per year due to taxes.)

Now let us assume that you will withdraw every cent of the money. With the IRA, you will end up with 676,671.

The ROTH you will still have the 636,867.