Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: dons2300b Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121112  
Subject: IRA (when can you start) Date: 5/7/1999 12:00 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Does anyone know if a person can start an IRA at the age of 15?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: JAFO31 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 15323 of 121112
Subject: Re: IRA (when can you start) Date: 5/7/1999 1:43 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
dons2300b: You wrote, "Does anyone know if a person can start an IRA at the age of 15?

I am no expert, but I have never heard of a minimum required age, but the person whose account it is must have earned income and may have some difficulty opening a brokerage account because minors are generally presumed incompetent to contract.

Hope this helps. Regards, JAFO

Author: Bob78164 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 15325 of 121112
Subject: Re: IRA (when can you start) Date: 5/7/1999 2:08 AM
dons2300b writes:

I reply:

Yes, as long as the person has at least as much earned income as he or she contributes to the IRA. --Bob

Author: dharmadollars Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 15327 of 121112
Subject: Re: IRA (when can you start) Date: 5/7/1999 9:05 AM
Re JAFO's observations: "What he said!"