UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (12) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: DanDGL Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75340  
Subject: Is it time to retire/invest in dividend stocks Date: 10/20/2008 2:35 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi!

I'm new to the Fool environment so I hope I'm not being redundant with my question. I'm getting closer to retiring and I was wondering if, even though the markets have taken a beating, it might be a good time to retire and roll my retirement funds over to an IRA where I could invest in a diversified group of 30-35 of the dividend paying companies listed in the Income Advisor.

Doing this would lock in some pretty high dividend yields and also provide future potential growth as stock prices improve with the economy over the next few years.

My present retirement funds have not taken a beating so I'm in good shape to make new investments. Thanks! Dan
Print the post Back To Top
Author: pauleckler Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 64303 of 75340
Subject: Re: Is it time to retire/invest in dividend stoc Date: 10/20/2008 5:06 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Hi Dan, Welcome to the board.

The basic problem with your question is that no one knows if the market has bottomed or not. It could be the worst is over, but stocks are still quite high by several measures and we know the bad news of recession is probably still ahead. No one knows how low earnings will go, how long it will last, how high unemployment will get etc, etc.

If your investments have held value to this point, you have done very well. If you move them too soon, you could still take some losses.