Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: brewer12345 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121585  
Subject: Is tuition deductible? Date: 10/10/2000 3:43 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
OK, I've read through the tax area of TMF and I even read through IRS pub 508, and I still can't tell whether my educational expenses might be deductible. Here's the story:

My wife and I are both pursuing graduate degrees. My wife is pursuing an M Ed. in counseling psychology and I am pursuing an MBA. My wife is currently working as a career counselor at a college and I am a business researcher at a consulting firm. Neither of us qualify under the definition of being required to get these degrees by our employers. However, I can't tell whether or not we would qualify to deduct our expenses under the definition of "maintaining and improving skills." Any suggestions?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Monkeylawyer Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 40749 of 121585
Subject: Re: Is tuition deductible? Date: 10/10/2000 4:42 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
<I can't tell whether or not we would qualify to deduct our [education] expenses under the definition of "maintaining and improving skills." Any suggestions? >