UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (24) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ThyPeace Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308429  
Subject: It never rains but it pours. Date: 6/13/2007 4:53 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 4

So I've been playing with Mvelopes and working on getting my budget to where I wanted it to be. I wasn't all the way there yet, of course; I'm brand new with Mvelopes and struggling with what the "right" values for my envelopes are. It'll take me a couple of months to get it all squared away.

But I really think I was making progress.

And then this week happened.

So.

The compressor on the A/C in my car is "tearing itself apart from the inside," according to the nice technician from Honda who called me with the bad news. That'll be $1,350 once they have the compressor, which they don't have in stock right now. And I've already done more than $600 of work on my car this year. Ugh. A well-cared-for 2001 Civic shouldn't have this many problems!

The place where DD goes to preschool doesn't allow "push" transactions. Either you give them your bank info or CC #, or you pay the annual fee all at once, up front. $792, due July 1. (I may have to live with the pull transactions...)

The ex has decided not to listen to reason on a particularly thorny parenting issue, that being whether or not it is appropriate to introduce a third person (her husband) into the parenting process. Result: 2 hours with attorney and child psychologist. Minimum cost: $1,000, with more to come. (Answer: No, it's not good to blur the clear lines of 'who are my parents' with a 4 year old. The ambiguity messes with her secure sense of self and world.)