UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: rasheed One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 2818  
Subject: Re: Buying Textbooks Online Date: 1/23/2000 8:46 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 5
I've been buying textbooks online since 1996 and now that my brother has started college, I buy books for him. Here are my suggestions:

For new textbooks, the cheapest, reputable sites are:
ecampus.com
textbooks.com
bigwords.com
varsitybooks.com

For used textbooks, the cheapest sites are:
ecampus.com
bigwords.com

Never buy textbooks from general bookstores like amazon.com. You will always pay too much. (You will only save on novels for your literature classes.) Swaps and student-ran programs don't get enough interest, and you'll end up wasting time in most cases trying to find books this way. Only programs where you buy books from buddies at your own school works well.

Other stores continue to pop up all of the time, but the ones above have enough supply chain structure to be the best in fullfilling orders at this time.

Before the start of the new semester or quarter, get all of the ISBNs for your new textbooks from your bookstore. Check all of the sites as prices and promotions vary all of the time. I have ordered books from different sites all for the same school session if the prices were cheaper at different places. It doesn't matter because shipping is usually free or cheap. Take into account tax charges when necessary.
Order books at least two weeks before you need them to allow time for companies to order books from publishers.

I have ordered at sometime or another from all of these stores. My comments for each of the stores are:

bigwords.com
They have a pre-buy (15% off program) which is great.
40% discount on top 40 books
Phone support is good.
Has used books.