UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: JackAfter6 Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 30  
Subject: Re: What Constitutes a Good Investment? Date: 3/24/2007 6:56 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
I've been investing in the stock market for about 13 months. I've increased my starting investment over 40% in a little over a year. I did this even after investing in such losing companies as HouseValues and Select Comfort. The most important thing I learned from the ups and downs was to read the trend. If I own a stock, and message boards have many negative things to say, and they make me question whether the company has a sound business model then I am going to dump the stock and take the loss.

I rarely hold a stock through an earnings release. Yes I've missed out on some huge profits, but I've saved even more from not taking huge losses.

Lots of highly successful investors will tell you to buy for the long haul, that no one can time the market, and that you should diversify to limit those bad choices that everyone makes.

Unfortunately for me, I didn't have a lot of money to play around with. I don't have the kind of money that will let me buy 20 different stocks--in thirds no less--and hold them come hell or high water. So I decided to limit my diversification to 3 stocks. This is no hard and fast rule for me though. If I'm holding a nice profit in one stock, and another that I'm holding takes a steep plunge for no reason--I always check the news before making a decision--then I will sell my profitable stock, and buy another chunk of the falling stock. This is part of my strategy. If I have a nice profit, I'm comfortable selling it.