Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (22) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: aj485 Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 25265  
Subject: Re: 55 year old rule Date: 6/10/2013 9:52 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I've been maxing out my 401k since 1997 at the same company/401k plan, and plan to continue until I'm 45 in 2019. Then I'd like to take about 5+ years off, and then come back to work at 50 or maybe a little later and work until 55 then fully retire.

I think it's a huge risk to assume you will be able to just step back into a job after 'taking off' 5 years. How are you going to support yourself from 45 - 50? Why not just work until you are 49 or 50, and then use the same strategy to support yourself until you reach 59 1/2?

(Assuming my company is still around and willing to hire me)

Unless you actually own the company, or have something else to offer your company that nobody else can, AND that they won't decide that they can live without after 5 years, that's a HUGE assumption.

I'm assuming even if I came back to work for one day at the age of 55 and quit, I'd be eligible for penalty free withdraws. (Without having to use SEP withdraws).

Here is the IRS requirement, from Pub 575:

Separation from service. In order to meet the requirements for the first exception in the list above, you must have separated from service in or after the year in which you reach age 55 (or age 50 for qualified public safety employees). You cannot separate from service before that year, wait until you are age 55 (or age 50 for qualified public safety employees), and take a distribution.