UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (124) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: 2gifts Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75540  
Subject: Re: Talk me out of a Financial Advisor Date: 6/4/2013 8:51 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 28
I've been reading this thread with interest, and thought I would chime in as I seem to have a different opinion from most of the replies that I have seen.

I have been doing our investing for about 30 years now, and have been generally happy with the results. That said, DH has absolutely zero interest in anything financial other than the spending side, so my worries have been around having someone who could replace me to do our financial management in case I die before DH. So my number one reason for getting a financial advisor has been to make sure that we found someone with whom I was comfortable in terms of performance and with whom DH could work if he had to go it alone. I find that a perfectly good reason to have a financial advisor because it would be to have that expertise available for someone who does not have nor cares to acquire that sort of expertise.

I happen to think that is a great reason to have a FA.

A 2nd reason that we have an advisor is that the numbers have gotten pretty large, and I'm concerned that if I make an error at this point, it could be pretty expensive, and so having someone to be more objective and not making emotional decisions is a big plus for me.

A 3rd reason is that I am finding that although I love to play with money, particularly ours, and make it grow, I'm starting to prefer to be doing other things, and so I want someone that I can hand this work off to.