UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (124) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Rayvt Big gold star, 5000 posts Top Favorite Fools Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75340  
Subject: Re: Talk me out of a Financial Advisor Date: 6/4/2013 9:08 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I've had "real money" invested for 25 years and done quite well.

To me "real money" means a solid 6-figure portfolio(s), perhaps even 7-figures.

So I'm wondering why someone who has a lot of experience and has achieved a sizeable portfolio by investing on their own would suddenly want to use a FA.

Ah-ha! Upon re-reading the OP: getting a pretty sizable check as part of a merger ... will have to cut back to half pay ...
and then
I've been investing pretty successfully for over 20 years, but I tend to think our portfolio has grown to a point where I'm a bit out of my league ... we paid a guy a fee to evaluate where we are, what changes we should make, etc.
What did he say?
FWIW, when I was actively interviewing FA many years ago in reviewing our existing portfolio, one guy said, "Oh, United Airlines. Well, everybody has to learn their lesson about airlines. I guess you haven't learned yours yet. No worry, you'll find out before long."

The other one that stands out in my memory, after reviewing everything, the guy looked at us and said, "What do you need me for?"

and this guy could offer some benefits, specifically, investment vehicles that are available at our net worth, yet difficult to get as an individual.
From everything I have read recently, these "alternative investments" are in the process of crash-and-burn. I think that low-HNW people are attracted to them partly due to the "little people can't join this club" exclusivity aspect.

Let me ponder about what "a bit out of my league" brings to my mind.
* Net worth above $1M but less than $5M.