UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (27) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: CayoConch One star, 50 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 16419  
Subject: Re: Total Beginner Date: 11/25/2002 5:45 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 14
I've read everyone's response and I have to wonder: do you REALLY recommend this path (learn the code) for the original poster's basis, that being a "Total Beginner"?

Good point, and a good way to get people back on message :-)

As others have said, it would depend on their reasons for wanting to create a web page. If it were for anything other than a personal or temporary site, I would definitely recommend learning from the ground up. I'd say this because there is much more value in learning a technology rather than a tool. I think of it this way: if someone asked a professional writer how to learn to write, they probably wouldn't tell them to learn how to use Word. They'd tell them to start by understanding grammer and ensuring that they had a well-rounded vocabulary. Beyond that, it would depend on what kind of writing they wanted to do. Journalism? Learn about the inverted pyramid and WWWWWH; Fiction? Learn plot development and character development. Etc. Unless, of course, they just wanted an easy way to write a letter to grandma. In that case, fire up word, make your fonts large, and type away :-)