Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (1) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: tbeyers Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Supernova Odyssey 1
Mission Team Member Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 15634  
Subject: Java isn't the reason to buy Sun's stock Date: 1/3/1999 3:37 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Although I'm new to the Fool, I've held Sun stock for about two years now. I won't sell anytime soon because:

1. businesses are just beginning to discover the potential the Internet holds for doing business. "E-commerce" -- i.e., buying and selling conducted via a web site -- is thriving. Doing business on the Internet requires software, powerful computers called servers and the network links to communicate data. Sun has products that address all three of those functions. Only IBM and perhaps Compaq can also make that claim.

2. the Y2K problem has created interest among many businesses to update their existing systems with new hardware and software that won't fail on Jan. 1, 2000. Sun's servers and software can fill that need quite nicely.

3. Sun is the leading vendor of servers that use the Unix operating system. Despite Microsoft's claim that it's operating system for servers is gaining momentum -- Windows NT (now known as Windows 2000) -- it has not impacted sales of Unix servers. Experts as early as a few months ago predicted that sales of NT servers would rise dramatically, impacting margins on Unix servers, the heart of Sun's business. This hasn't happened, and isn't likely to happen anytime soon.