Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: someicg Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27657  
Subject: Learn from my mistakes: 1 year of investing Date: 9/8/2005 7:18 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 39
Today marks the one year anniversary of my delving into the stock market. While I haven't done as terribly as some horror stories I've heard, I have not done particularly wonderfully either. I am up .8%. Yes, there is a decimal point in front of the number.
To mark the occasion, I will attempt to help out other new investors. That's right, I'm coming clean and will admit to the mistakes I have made in my first year. But rather than just admitting to my mistakes, I will attempt to also relay what I “should have done”. A word of caution, though: I am still a newbie and all advice should be taken with that in mind.

Mistake #1: I forgot about commissions.

The Problem: That's right, I forgot about commissions. This will be a recurring theme throughout most of the remainder of my problems. Including commissions, I made a .8% profit. If you exclude commissions paid, I made 8.2% profit. (Notice the change in the placement of the decimal point.) Yes, commissions killed me.

The Solutions: More detail will be given in this regard in future “solutions”, but for now I'll just give these 2 quick points:
1) put larger sums into each position so that the % of the commission is smaller
2) know your investment strategy before you start putting in real money

Mistake #2: I didn't have an investment strategy