Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: kiddje Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 120780  
Subject: Lifetime Learning Credit Date: 2/2/2000 5:57 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I've seen a lot of discussion about this credit, but always in situations very different from my own. I graduated from college in May of 99. The one term of classes for which my tuition was paid in 1999 came to about $6500, almost entirely from student loans that are in my own name.

I have paid well over 1/2 of my own support over 1999, so my parents can not claim me as a dependent for that year. It seems to me that I should be able to claim the Lifetime Learning Credit for the full $1000, but I haven't seen anyone else do it or discussion of it on the board, so I was hoping for some affirmation one way or the other. Am I allowed to claim this credit?

/Joe
Print the post Back To Top
Author: pmarti Big funky green star, 20000 posts Home Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 26856 of 120780
Subject: Re: Lifetime Learning Credit Date: 2/2/2000 8:56 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
<< I've seen a lot of discussion about this credit, but always in situations very different from my own. I graduated from college in May of 99. The one term of classes for which my tuition was paid in 1999 came to about $6500, almost entirely from student loans that are in my own name.