UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: coopiedaddy Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 12  
Subject: Low Market Strategy 101 Date: 10/9/2008 10:43 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello!

New poster here. I have only a few years experience investing at home for family purposes. I have investments in a few 403b's, Roths, and then every month I invest outside of retirement in a taxable brokerage account.

The vast majority of my investments are in index funds, index ETF's and other basic "safer bets", including a few international stock funds and even merging markets.

My question: Now that we appear to be at a very low point, at least, if not frankly at dead bottom generally speaking... What is a good strategy to use in order to sell off a few duds, collect a loss and move on to greener pastures (for me, probably DCA reallocating into a better mix).

Furthermore, is this a relevant strategy? I've found myself searching for posts about this and have not been very lucky. Hold or just sell off! are the strategies I seem to find.

The things I would like to ditch include a few stocks, since frankly I am just not a stock investor and don't necessarily care to be, I like the buffer that funds provide and the auto-diversity inherent in the size a fund or ETF. I intend to buy and hold for years to decades.

Let me be clear about my question, I seek to learn if I should simply sell off a few stocks and a few volatile funds that I do not want any longer, take a loss that I can carry into the next year or two, and reallocate into better bets for the next decade. Do I do this now and take a good loss, or wait? Do I not do this at all? I understand wash sale law, so I am OK with that.

Thanks for your help, fools!
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!