UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: JackUSA Two stars, 250 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 7258  
Subject: Re: NYC Investment Club Date: 10/3/1997 10:42 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
<<O.K. What kind of set-up funds are you looking to spend?

(In case you were wondering, I am in your region and am also looking to form a group)>>

I'm responding to your post on the Motley Fool "investment club" message board.

I'm rather new to the Fool thing, just since June really, but the Foolish Four, the UV and UG concepts are so easy to execute that I don't think any of us really need much help with those aspects of our portfolios. On the other hand, it's a lot of work following those small cap growth stocks, especially once earnings reports start teeming again in November. What I'd like to see develop is a group of well-rounded people working together to research growth stocks, more or less according to the Foolish 8 criteria. Sharing the load, we'll all prosper better and learn
from each other. Sort of a live TMF message board, using real money.

Regarding initial outlay and monthly contributions, IMHO, we should start slow. That is, let us take the time to do the Foolish research that make for smart buys and timely sells, make us all wealthy and make _you_ a retired young lawyer. Also, since the focus of the club would be on growth stocks, I don't expect anybody would be putting 100% of their investment dollars into the club portfolio. That said, I haven't any firm figures in mind for the club, but I'd suppose no more than $500-$2000 to start and maybe $50-$100 per month, per member, more if we're all game. The members can work all that out at our early meetings.