UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: blackie One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 10363  
Subject: Make Backups! Date: 5/5/2000 1:54 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 6
I have been using Quicken since 1994, so my qfiles are quite large. Since I have been tracking finances for so long this data is irreplaceable and would be very tragic if lost, so this is what I do. I make a backup of my data to a CDR after every time I use Quicken. I alternate between 2 different CD's with each backup. I then take the CD with the most recent backup to work and lock it in my locker. That way I have a copy of my most recent back up in an "off site" location. When I make a new backup I then take that CD to work and swap it out with the previous one and take it home to use for the next backup. That way I have copies of every backup I have ever done. Believe me, I have had things go wrong and have acutally had to use these backups to restore my data. It is the best insurance.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: makfan Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 208 of 10363
Subject: Re: Make Backups! Date: 5/5/2000 4:12 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Making backups and keeping one off-site is really important. I have a portable and a desktop and I make an easily-accessible backup by copying the data between the two systems (I use a Mac synchronization program to do this so I don't screw up and go the wrong direction!). Then I keep a backup off-site for disaster recovery.

Mike

Author: Druscilla One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 210 of 10363