Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: fidgetyfledgling Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27417  
Subject: market timing (sort of) Date: 12/18/2012 9:40 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Hi,
I'm new to Motley Fool and I thought that I'd say hello. Also, I have a question... already! Here's what's going on with me, in general, followed by the question:
I have been working professionally for about ten years and I've managed to save up some money (about $100K) in two different work-related 401k's. I have been investing in the mutual funds available in these work-associated plans, but the returns on my investments there have not been very good. Some of the main causes of this are: a lack of (good) available mutual fund choices, excessive plan fees and high mutual fund expense rates. The stock market plunge in 2008 didn't help much either, I might add.
I've decided to act foolishly and attempt to manage my own retirement money, to see if I can get better returns with the help of The Motley Fool "stock pickers" and, perhaps, the general foolish community. I have faith that this will lead to better returns but, if not, at least I tried to do something. If I end up old and broke some day, I'd rather this be as a result of my own mistakes than because of limited investment options and excessive retirement plan/mutual fund fees. So, this has brought me to The Motley Fool, where I have been impressed with the market-beating returns of the resident "stock-pickers" and the investment knowledge of the community here in general.