Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (1) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Varlot One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 4867  
Subject: Marketing a Novel as an Ebook - Prelude Date: 2/22/2012 11:38 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 4
Since this is the sort of thing I would myself benefit from reading, I am going to write a series of posts detailing my experiences publishing and marketing an ebook. First, a bit of background:

I am a previously published author under what is increasing coming to be known as legacy publishing. That is, works created and sold by traditional publishing houses. I co-authored a novel with a friend, an established fantasy author by the name of Holly Lisle, which was published by Baen Books. This credit was sufficient to entitle me to membership in SFWA (the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America), which -- with one break -- I remain a member of to this day.

After the aforementioned publication, I worked on a solo novel titled The Caballa for quite some time. This was a project I *had* to do (something only another writer can likely understand), and it did not come easy. In addition, I found myself concerned the work might have a problematic audience, at least for a the typical conservative publisher concerned about how to market a fantasy novel featuring young people just barely into their teens, but told from an adult perspective.

So I set The Caballa to the side for the moment. Writing it had been both painful and draining, and I found myself wondering about the plausibility of making a living doing something this hard. Even if I had sold the novel, and if it had become something of a success, did I want to go through that same experience again, and again, ad infinitum?