Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: lcd186 Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 19026  
Subject: Medicare: $480 bill, choosing new plan Date: 11/5/2012 10:57 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
New on this board. I am 47 y.o., but have been on disability for almost three years now. Honestly I have never fully understood many aspects of Medicare beyond the monthly premium for my Empire Blue Cross/Blue Shield Freedom II (PPO) plan.

I am not very good with paperwork and I have not had anyone (professional office, or other) assist me since I was approved for SSDI nearly three years ago.

I have actually been planning to find new providers. My main health/disability issue is psychiatric and I need psychiatric visits, mental health visits, and prescription medication covered at least in part. I was also about to go for a dental visit and I have put off for over a year some dental work (abutment and crown) that should be completed. Unrelated to those two issues, I now have a sinus infection which is worsening and it may need to be assessed and diagnosed (I've had sinus problems for almost 20 years).

Two months ago I received a letter that my current plan choice is going to be discontinued and unless I choose one by the deadline, I will be switched to original Medicare. I have meant to ask questions about this for several weeks, but haven't gotten back to doing so, until now. On Saturday, I received an unexpected bill from "Empire HealthChoice Assurance, Inc." for $480.00. Under the description and billing period information: "Direct Payment - Regular Billing" Direct Payment - Individual." Billing Period: 01/01/12 - 01/01/13. Excerpt from the reverse under Important Notices: