Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: CalgaryKen Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 3296  
Subject: MI on the TSE - long post Date: 3/31/2000 10:30 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 8
I've said it before, and I'll emphasize it again: I'm relatively new at investing. As a novice, I've been attracted to the MI strategies presented by the Gardners in their famous books. However, I've been somewhat sceptical of these strategies as applied to the TSE, both because of postings on this and other Canadian boards, and because I firmly believe that you don't get much (e.g. return) when you don't invest much effort (e.g. MI). Nevertheless, the temptation to follow a recipe out of a book and expect success was just too tempting for me to leave alone.

I've spent the year with the proverbial, imaginary, $10,000 which I "invested" in TSE stocks following several of the MI strategies devised for application to the DOW. If you've dismissed these strategies already, click on "thread" now, and move along (there, I've given away my conclusion). For those of you still with me, and who are still wondering about these strategies, and how they might (or might not work) on the TSE, here are the results (all for the period of April 1, 1999 to March 31, 2000):

High Yield 10 [HY10 - rank stocks in descending div. yield order, buy equal portions of top 10 stocks (TRP, NOR, DFS, TA, BMO, CM, LDM, NA, A, BNS)]: -15.4%

Beating the Dow 5 [BTD5 - identify 10 top stocks based on div. yield, rank stocks in ascending order by stock price, buy equal portions of the 5 at the top of the list (LDM, A, NOR, TRP, DFS)]: -18.9%

Penultimate Profit Prospect [PPP - use BTD5 list, spend all your money on the second stock on the list (A)]: +4.1%