Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (22) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: justpatrick Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 9311  
Subject: More detailed analysis of IBM & PwC Date: 8/28/2002 4:16 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 14
Due to changes in my job situation, I feel that I can take a better stab at looking at this situation.

My story:

I have an MBA, worked for IBM Global Services for 3 years (left by my own choice), and then I switched to PwC Consulting for 2.5 years. After 18 months of layoffs, my group was gone and I was one of the last to go. (sigh of relief at not having to wait for the axe to fall from week to week). I don't think I hold anything against either company and would work for them again if the opportunity was right. IBM did not check the "Do not rehire" in my exit interview and the PwC partner who did the exit interview said he'd take me back in a minute if business was better. So, no grudges on my part, business is business.

On with my thoughts:

The first issue is selling business. PwC has been hurt pretty badly by the economy and accounting problems. Once the deal is done, PwC Consulting will have the legal independence from PwC that customers are demanding, but will have to fight the perceived lack of technology independence from IBM and a tough economic environment. I think IBM and PwC have different selling styles and how they work together will be interesting to see. IBM often has the ground troops in there winning projects through performance, while PwC is in the 'C' level offices (CEO, CFO, CIO...) selling deals based on relationships.

So, let's assume that the economy gets better and things start to roll again in the next 12-18 months. The new combined organization is selling it's socks off.