Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: dengdeng Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121061  
Subject: more tax credit confusion! Date: 7/29/2001 10:55 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hello-

A few months ago, everyone told me that I would be receiving a tax credit for 2000 taxes (I know that everyone is still waiting for them). They said that if you filed $6000 you would be eligible for $300 back, and if you filed less, you would be refunded a reduced amount. I am a college student, and I filed about $4000 for 2000, and there was about another $1000 that I didn't file (because it was work-study, and wasn't taxed). So, I reasoned, I should be getting a check for $100 or $200. But I just received a statement from the IRS saying that because I didn't have taxable income or was listed as a dependent on someone else's return (and I was NOT listed as a dependent), I will not be receiving a check. Can anyone fathom why, or should I call the 800 number they provide? Thanks for the help!

dengdeng
Print the post Back To Top
Author: lorenzo2 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 52914 of 121061
Subject: Re: more tax credit confusion! Date: 7/30/2001 12:17 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
I'm not quite sure what you mean when you say that you filed about $4000 on your 2000 return - do you mean that was your earned income? If so, you would have had no taxable income at all (after taking the standard deduction), and that's why no rebate. To qualify for a check, you have to have had taxable income and a net tax liability. It sounds like you didn't...