Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (12) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: MainiacJoe Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 1797  
Subject: Most Memorable Observations Date: 2/13/2002 10:49 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
I am so glad to have found this board!!!

I've been an amateur astronomer for more than 20 years. I am currently vice-president of the Muncie (IN) Astronomy Club.

To help us get to know each other, I'd like to know what everybody's most memorable observations are--kind of like what S&T is doing with their editors in recent issues. Here are mine:

1. Seeing Mars naked-eye before sunset, 2001

I had read that the Babylonians did this around opposition, and I'd done it with Jupiter and Venus, so last year I tried for Mars. A stretch of a week of clear skies after sunset about 1 month after opposition gave me the chance to memorize where to stand and where to look relative to landmarks, and I gradually spotted it about 10 minutes earlier each day. On the last clear day, about 15 minutes before sunset I went out and started looking. After about 10 minutes I just barely caught it, then sprinted halfway down the block to a place where I could see the sun, to confirm that it hadn't set yet. Success!!! That was my most memorable observation, because of the rarity of it and the planning that went into it.

2. Leonids, 2001

My wife and I drove 4 hours to get out from under dense fog, and were rewarded with about 1000 meteors over a 2 hour period.

3. Uranus in binoculars, 1995