Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: kalbbj Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 27416  
Subject: Moving from Edward Jones Date: 1/30/2006 7:32 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi,
I'm new to investing on my own. I currently have an Edward Jones account that I have had since 1998. Recently I have not been happy with the service I'm getting and the fees I'm paying for that service. I now have more time to devote to research and want to invest on my own. What I don't know is if I close my account with Ed Jones does that mean all the stocks and mutual funds are sold and I get a check? Or can I transfer what I own with them to another account at a discount broker? I worry about the taxes I would pay if everything was cashed out.
Thanks
kalbbj
Print the post Back To Top
Author: wwongma One star, 50 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 11941 of 27416
Subject: Re: Moving from Edward Jones Date: 1/30/2006 8:39 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Hi, congrats on being able to spend more time on your finance and stop paying the fees and service.

You do not need to sell your shares to be cash, you can fill out form from your new broker to transfer in kind from the EJ to your new broker. you may pay fees/fines for transferring out of EJ. check with them on the costs.

BTW, what were the fees and what type of bad service did you get?

WW

Author: kalbbj Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 11943 of 27416
Subject: Re: Moving from Edward Jones Date: 1/30/2006 9:24 PM
Recommendations: 1