UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (82) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: rog12 One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 41594  
Subject: MRK-stick to the facts Date: 8/21/2005 6:02 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 149
I have followed this board with great interest for about a month. During that time I have read about a thousand posts and have been much impressed with the ability of many who post here to analyze companies. However, I have not been impressed with some of the comments made about the Texas trial. In my opinion they were not based on evidence and merely represented the bias of the writers.

Let me start with my credentials for this criticism. I'm an appellate lawyer with 45 years of experience. I have handled hundreds of appeals in state and federal courts representing both plaintiffs and defendants..

First the damages. A recent post complained about the economic damages, stating that they were $24 million. Correction, they were $450,000, about what you might expect for a department manager at WMT. The mental anguish and loss of companionship damages were 24 million. These are always very subjective in nature and depend a great deal on the emotions created in the jurors by the trial. I don't know the Texas law, but if the trial judge thinks that they are excessive he may be able to reduce them. The 10 jurors who voted for the plaintiff must have felt that MRK acted outrageously, because they added 229 million in punitive damages. According to what I have read this must be reduced to $750,000 because of the Texas cap on punitive damages.