UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: bether One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76397  
Subject: Multiple 401(k)s & 403(b) Date: 10/5/1999 8:46 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm new to Fooldom, and would like to get my husband and my IRA's out from our old employers into something I manage (through e*trade). I have one old 403(b) and two old 401(k) accounts and Neal, my hubby, has one old 403(b) acct.

Can I consolidate any of these together, or does each account need to be rolled over into it's own separate IRA?

Many thanks for your input.

Beth
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFPixy Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 14270 of 76397
Subject: Re: Multiple 401(k)s & 403(b) Date: 10/6/1999 8:57 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Greetings, Beth, and welcome. You asked:

<<I'm new to Fooldom, and would like to get my husband and my IRA's out from our old employers into something I manage (through e*trade). I have one old 403(b) and two old 401(k) accounts and Neal, my hubby, has one old 403(b) acct.

Can I consolidate any of these together, or does each account need to be rolled over into it's own separate IRA? >>

Yes, you may consolidate your one 403b and two 401k accounts into a single IRA for you. Your husband's 403b account must go into an IRA for him. Your respective retirement plans cannot be merged into a single IRA for the two of you because the "I" in IRA stands for Individual. There is no provision in the law for joint ownership of an IRA.

Regards..Pixy

Author: edcosoft Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 14275 of 76397