UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Prophet43M One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35365  
Subject: Muni Bond Cap Gain or Loss Date: 7/15/2010 9:34 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I understand corporate bonds well but I'm not particularly familar with the ins and outs of muni bonds.

So...I'm studying and learning muni bonds so that when the pricing become attractive again I can hopefully make some good purchases.

I think I remember it being stated here a few months back that capital gains on muni bonds are taxable (even if the interest is non-taxable). Correct?

If so, would the converse be true? Can muni bond capital losses be used to offset capital gains elsewhere? I ask because in todays market there are tons of even long dated muni bonds selling well above par.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFGalagan Big gold star, 5000 posts CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 31079 of 35365
Subject: Re: Muni Bond Cap Gain or Loss Date: 7/15/2010 10:28 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
I think I remember it being stated here a few months back that capital gains on muni bonds are taxable (even if the interest is non-taxable). Correct?

If so, would the converse be true? Can muni bond capital losses be used to offset capital gains elsewhere? I ask because in todays market there are tons of even long dated muni bonds selling well above par.

In general, gains are taxable and losses are deductible. But as with many tax issues, it isn't that simple -- in fact, it can get really complicated. Here's a good description of all the ins and outs: