Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Richbutnot Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121144  
Subject: Mutual Fund Tax Basis Date: 9/20/1998 4:58 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I just sold 65 shares of a mutual I have been contributing to for many years. To reduce taxes, I sold the last 65 shares I purchased and have a letter from my broker stating this. How do I figure the cost basis for the shares I sold? Do I count only the last 65 shares purchased with contributions, or do I also include any shares bought through dividend or capital gain reinvestment. I pay taxes on the dividends and capital gains every year.

Thanks, Rich
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFTaxes Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 5425 of 121144
Subject: Re: Mutual Fund Tax Basis Date: 9/22/1998 12:37 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
[[I just sold 65 shares of a mutual I have been contributing to for many years. To reduce taxes, I sold
the last 65 shares I purchased and have a letter from my broker stating this. How do I figure the
cost basis for the shares I sold? Do I count only the last 65 shares purchased with contributions, or
do I also include any shares bought through dividend or capital gain reinvestment. I pay taxes on the
dividends and capital gains every year.]]

That's pretty much it, Rich. Both.

Somehow you have to track the last 65 shares purchased, however purchased. If they were from reinvested dividends, so be it. If they were from purchases, that's fine also.