UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (29) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: TaysPop Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 189943  
Subject: My Computer Is Too Slow Date: 9/8/1999 11:27 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Dear Folks,

Would like some help with what I'm sure is a common problem. I own a 3-4 year old Compaq Presario 4704. It has become increasingly slow lately and I think I have done about all I can do from the standpoint of deleting files or programs that I do not use. I am a self-taught user and know just enough to be dangerous...bear with me, please.

The computer has a Pentium processor (Pentium 1?), 16.0 MB RAM, and I checked the disk and it says it has/had 1.49GB of space with only 136 MB free. I expect that to be the main source of my problems.

What avenues or courses of action might I pursue to increase its speed? Whatever I do, I want it to be cost effective.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

Scott
Print the post Back To Top
Author: phooley Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 1266 of 189943
Subject: Re: My Computer Is Too Slow Date: 9/8/1999 11:57 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
... The computer has a Pentium processor (Pentium 1?), 16.0 MB RAM, and I checked the disk and it says it has/had 1.49GB of space with only 136 MB free. ...

My computer is probably similar to yours -- Pentium, 133mHz, originally 16MB RAM, 1.6GB hard drive, W95a.

I spent about $80 in 1998 to instal additional RAM to take it to 80 MB -- 64 MB would be fine.

If you were able to surf the web at acceptable speeds in the past, DO NOT upgrade to a new Netscape or Microsoft browser if you can avoid it, and try the following to get your machine back to its potential.