UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (30) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: BostonKate Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 5806  
Subject: Re: "Leaving the Fast Lane" to "S Date: 5/19/2002 12:49 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 7
My DH and I have been doing this for several years. We're both in our mid-thirties, have no children, are basically debt-free, and own our home. We are technical writers who work about five months out of the year, if you added up all the time we work and compressed it into traditional work-weeks. The rest of the time, he plays jazz guitar and I spin/knit/quilt/sew. I am also working on building a side career in voice-overs.

DH quit a series of non-MLS library jobs to stay home and write, but I made a conscious choice to get off the career track. I am nearly done with my PhD, but chose to leave my assistantship and stop searching for academic jobs when we started to write. I am a workaholic in traditional work environments and bring far too much stress home with me, so it was both a health decision and a lifestyle decision.

We were self-supporting for a few years before my father died. Dad left us enough money to purchase our house free and clear, so we don't have a mortgage. Various insurances, routine monthly utilities, groceries, and taxes result in a monthly cost of living that's about $1200. We rarely need to buy clothes, make-up, shoes, or other cost-of-working items. We travel a lot, work on our "handyman's dream" house and garden, entertain, sock away the maximum in retirement accounts, give to charity, and basically enjoy our lives. We're far nicer and calmer people than we were when we worked every day; BostonSpouse commuted 75 miles each way, and I was working evenings and weekends for much of the year.