Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
While I am no expert, I’ve probably been keeping my eye on VISA and MasterCard (hereafter referred to as MA) longer than anyone else here so far. My father loved to teach finance and economics, and he often talked that a transition to a “cashless society” (i.e. plastic only) was inevitable. He would often cite how cheques and banking developed during the middle ages as a way to protect one’s assets against the very real threat of armed robbery for one’s gold, and to argue that plastic was the future’s alternative to cash. At a young age, he encouraged me to investigate if there was any way to invest in this trend; my very first stock research, albeit a little early. It turned out that visa and MA were owned entirely of their “member banks”. The banks issued the credit and took the risk. Visa and MA would simply process the transaction for a fee. I vowed to be sure to keep an eye open for the opportunity to invest.

I bring this all up, because when I first got into MA less than a year ago, Visa was discussing an IPO as a distant prospect, 2-3 years away at least. Now, suddenly they are planning a IPO in a few months to raise $10B. I believe that this indicates that the “member banks” aka owners of VISA are looking to fix their balance sheets after the sub prime melt down and subsequent liquidity problems. No one even burped when Visa said it wished to raise almost 4.5 times more than MA, and 2-3 years earlier than planned. This seems excessive given that they’re only about 2.5 times bigger than MA.

So I think it is very likely that Visa might try to raise even more capital than the $10B as the sub prime and credit crisis do more damage. Without knowing the total size of the offering its impossible to value its investment potential. That said, MA has been an exceptional investment.